Skip to main content

Pala dynasty

The Pala dynasty of Kamarupa kingdom ruled from 900. Like the Pala dynasty of Bengal, the first ruler in this dynasty was elected, which probably explains the name of this dynasty "Pala". But unlike the Palas of Bengal, who were Buddhists, the Palas of Kamarupa were Hindus.

The Hindu orthodoxy drew their lineage from the earlier Varman dynasty and thus ultimately from Narakasura. The Pala dynasty came to an end when Kamarupa was invaded by the Gaur king Ramapala (c. 1072-1126). Timgyadeva was made the governor of Kamarupa who ruled between 1110 and 1126. Timgyadeva threw off the yoke of the Pala king and ruled independently for some years when he was attacked and replaced by Vaidyadeva under Ramapala's son Kumarapala. Vaidyadeva, who ruled between 1126 and 1140, declared independence within four years of his rule after the death of Kumarapala.

Both Timgyadeva and Vaidyadeva issued grants in the style of the Kamarupa kings (three copper plates attached to the seal of the Kamarupa kings by a ring).

  • Brahma Pala (900-920)
  • Ratna Pala (920-960)
  • Indra Pala (960-990)
  • Go Pala (990-1015)
  • Harsha Pala (1015-1035)
  • Dharma Pala (1035-1060)
  • Jaya Pala (1075-1100).